When People Disappoint

Posted on Updated on

Appreciate the people who stand by you during your tough times, for they may be the only true friends that you have. The ironic thing about hyper-connective world is how we little we actually connect in a deeper sense of the word. I mean, yes, we retweet each other’s tweets and like each other’s facebook posts, but when somebody asks, “How are you?” how many of them actually listen to your answer and say, “No, seriously how are you?”

Because they can’t. They can’t properly listen to you, I mean. This virtual world edits conversations and reduces the affect of body language and change of tones so that the only difference between one “I am fine,” and another is whether it is in Arial or Times New Roman. One thing that you learn with time is never to expect anything from anyone. How many times have close friends disappointed and how many times have strangers turned into heroes?  It’s like that quote by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, “People are like stained – glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within.”

And sometimes you might spend so much time with somebody only to discover how shallow your relationship really is, and it ends up shattering at the tiniest hit. I don’t know why I’m ranting here today, but I have been disappointed a lot lately, and the thing with disappointments is that they change you, they change your belief systems, they change the way you view others, they even change the way you view yourself.

Then people say that to avoid getting disappointment, have zero expectations. Maybe they are right, but is having zero expectations about the people around us really easy?

Recently, one of “my persons” left and I didn’t even feel as sad as the old me would have been. Maybe because in this special case, their leaving might have been for the best (for them even though it was not for the best for me), and I realized that is the point you know you truly love someone; when their happiness means more to you than your own happiness.

I don’t seem to find a conclusion for this post. It sounds like rambling to me, so I don’t know what it sounds to you. I guess, today’s take home lesson is, “Respect people who find time for you in their busy schedule…But love people who never look at their schedule when you need them.”

And tell me this, “How are you?”

No seriously, how are you?quote

One thought on “When People Disappoint

    sarah said:
    October 1, 2013 at 12:41 am

    a very nice article !!

Leave a Reply

