Airport Announcement-updated

Posted on Updated on

So the other day, I heard the Dubai Airport Announcement on a Mombasa street, and it turned out to be someone’s phone ringtone. I found it quite fascinating why anyone would put that as their ringtone, so I sat speculating; Maybe the guy has never traveled abroad and had it in his wishlist to do so, so it was his way of visualizing his dream in order to achieve it. Maybe the guy had gone abroad – to Dubai specifically – and this was his souvenir, his way of remembering the trip. Or maybe it was his way of reminding himself that we are just travelers in this Dunya and that life is not permanent so make the use of everyday. Or maybe…

He just liked the way it sounded.

So now when you hear the woman announcing a plane’s departure in Dubai International Airport, what would you be thinking? 😉

After posting this, I got an email from one of my readers that says the following;

I used to have this ringtone few years ago when I was living in Africa.  It was the announcement of Emirates flight to London Heathrow.  This is might sound stupid, but it used to give me the hope that life is full of opportunities and I just have to wait for my turn to come. I used to believe that this is going to be my flight one day. When I look back to this , at that time I had no clue how it is going to be my flight, I didn’t  have the money , I didn’t have the reason to go there and I’m not smart to secure a scholarship or anything.  I never wanted to go there for vacation or anything like it, but for a reason, maybe work, conference, whatever.  You can say that I put it in my mind as benchmark for my own success.

Sub7an Allah, yesterday I was checking for my London Heathrow flight.  I have to go there for 10 days to study an extensive course as part of my master’s degree .  Although Lufthansa is around 1000 AED cheaper than emirates, I will go for emirates insha’ allah just to hear the announcement for real.

Comparing the two pictures in my head now I cannot say more than sub7an Allah. 

ما بين غمضة عين وانتباهتها يغير الله من حال الى حال”

Hadeeth of the Day;

عن ابن عمر رضي الله عنهما قال : أخذ رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم بمنكبيّ فقال : ( كن في الدنيا كأنك غريب ، أو عابر سبيل )

On the authority of Abdullah ibn Umar (May Allah be pleased with them both), he relates that the Prophet (Peace be upon him) once held my shoulders and said: “Live in this world as (if you are) a wayfarer or a stranger.” [Bukhari]

One thought on “Airport Announcement-updated

    abdulaziz said:
    December 11, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Nice one. my wife still has this ring tone on her phone.I dont blame her i can understand why she has more skywards miles than me..

Leave a Reply

